My name is Els van Hoorn and I was born and raised in the Netherlands. In 1979 I came to Crete for the first time and immediately fell in love with the Island, the people, the smell and the light. For a long time we often spent our holidays in Crete. In the beginning with my husband Harry Barendse and later with our 3 children. I always took a lot of pictures but these were mainly holiday snapshots. Since 2018 we permanently rent a house, first in Kamilari and since september 2022 in Sivas. We are here mostly in spring and autumn. Because I stopped working I had more time to look with different eyes when taking pictures. I payed attention to the composition and made sure my horizons were straight. I have no other purpose than enjoying the feeling when I am happy about a photo I took. I hope you like them.

Το όνομά μου είναι Els van Hoorn και γεννήθηκα και μεγάλωσα στην Ολλανδία. Το 1979 ήρθα για πρώτη φορά στην Κρήτη και αμέσως ερωτεύτηκα το Νησί, τους ανθρώπους, τη μυρωδιά και το φως. Για πολύ καιρό περνούσαμε συχνά τις διακοπές μας στην Κρήτη. Στην αρχή με τον άντρα μου Harry Barendse και αργότερα με τα 3 παιδιά μας. Πάντα έβγαζα πολλές φωτογραφίες αλλά αυτές ήταν κυρίως στιγμιότυπα διακοπών. Από το 2018 νοικιάζουμε μόνιμα σπίτι, πρώτα στο Καμηλάρι και από τον Σεπτέμβριο του 2022 στον Σίβα. Είμαστε εδώ κυρίως την άνοιξη και το φθινόπωρο. Επειδή σταμάτησα να δουλεύω, είχα περισσότερο χρόνο να κοιτάζω με διαφορετικά μάτια όταν έβγαζα φωτογραφίες. Έδωσα σημασία στη σύνθεση και φρόντισα να είναι ίσιοι οι ορίζοντές μου. Δεν έχω άλλο σκοπό από το να απολαμβάνω την αίσθηση όταν χαίρομαι για μια φωτογραφία που τράβηξα. Ελπίζω να σας αρέσουν.